Malta Intellectual Property Awards
Navigate Up
Sign In

Malta Intellectual Property Awards

​Malta Innovation Awards.

The aim of these Awards is to recognise the efforts of individuals and companies that have taken their ideas and concepts or their operational processes a step forward. Through these Awards, Government is encouraging the development of Innovative ideas and products which have a degree of potential that is both unique and sustainable.
Award Categories
The three categories of the Malta Innovation Awards are as follows:
A. Award for Creative Innovation
The cultural and creative industries are significant to innovation because they are primarily based on innovative ideas which produce a multitude of new products and services. Creative individuals and enterprises are the heart of cultural and creative industries. Through talent, skill, entrepreneurship and intellectual property, they can generate new jobs and companies and can also help mature industries re-tool for the future.
The Award for Creative Innovation rewards individuals or enterprises operating in the cultural and  creative  industries,  which  have  an  excellent  combination  of  creativity,  innovation  and entrepreneurship. The contribution can be a new product, innovation of a process or a new way of working. 
B. Award for Scientific Innovation
Scientific Innovation is based on advanced knowledge generated by science students, academics and professionals, which are used in the creation of a new idea, the understanding or discovery of a new scientific concept and the creation of a new device, process or product. This should be a result of research & development together with experimentation which is science-based.
C. Award for Technological Innovation

Technological Innovation involves new or improved tools that result in problem solving through their novel application, thereby enhancing the outcome of a particular process from the use of such equipment or implements.
A Special Award is also given to  the Emerging Innovator which is chosen by the Adjudicating Committee from all the submissions received for the three Categories.  This award is furthermore divided into two sections according to age group i.e. '16 to 30' and '31 and over'.
All Applicants must be Maltese nationals, groups of Maltese individuals or enterprises that are established in Malta
Winners of these awards receive prize money and a trophy.
WIPO Recognition

The winners of the Malta Innovation Awards can also receive an award from the World Intellectual Property Organisation.
The scope of the WIPO Awards is to celebrate the achievements of inventors, creators and innovative companies around the world.  The WIPO Awards Program aims to help foster a culture in which innovation and creativity are encouraged at every level of society. The publicity generated by the WIPO Awards also offers a means to promote wider understanding of how the intellectual property system works to serve creativity and innovation.