Copyright Board
Navigate Up
Sign In

Copyright Board

The Copyright Board, established by virtue of Article 45 of the Copyright Act, is vested with the authority to regulate copyright and neighbouring rights in Malta, to approve requests for the establishment and operation of Collecting Societies in Malta, to approve the tariffs charged and any revisions thereof, as well as to revoke any authorisation to act as a Collecting Society.
Following the enactment of new legislation on Copyright (Act No. XIII of 2000) which came into force on the 14th August, 2000 - with the exception of Part XI on Collecting Societies which became effective as from the 1st January, 2001 - the Copyright Board was reconstituted in terms of Article 45 (2) and (3) of Part X on the Copyright Board to regulate the following:
1.  Regulation of copyright and related rights in Malta in general;
2. Authorisation of Collecting Societies;
3. Regulating the establishment and incorporation of Collecting Societies;
4. Regulating the functions of Collecting Societies;
5. Regulating the working Methods for Collecting Societies; and
6. Determining  the  amount  of  compensation  due  in disputes involving orphan works and ordering a person to pay the amount of compensation fixed by it (as established by. S.L. 415.06).

Dr Ivan Sammut                     Chairman
Mr Frederick Cutajar              ​Member
Mr Howard Keith Debono     Member
Mr Mark Borg                        Secretary

All correspondence is to be addressed to Mr Mark Borg, Secretary, Copyright Board, Ministry for the Economy, European Funds and Lands, 197 Palazzo Zondadari, Merchants Street, Valletta or by email on​